Over 1 million readers this year!

Lawmakers and execs disclose finances, contracts

These disclosures, which lawmakers and statewide electeds are required to submit every year, allow the public to monitor for potential conflicts of interest.

Secretary of State Chuck Gray, State Treasurer Curt Meier and Superintendent of Public Instruction Megan Degenfelder exit the Wyoming House of Representatives after Gov. Mark Gordon’s State of the State on Feb. 12, 2024. (Ashton J. Hacke/WyoFile)

by Maya Shimizu Harris, WyoFile

Every year, Wyoming’s senators, representatives and five statewide elected officials submit financial disclosures to the Secretary of State ahead of the legislative session. 

These disclosures are required by state statute. Under the law, legislators and statewide elected officials have to list businesses in which they hold a 10% or greater interest and contracts with the state for services and supplies valued at more than $5,000. 

Elected officials in Wyoming’s executive branch — the governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, state auditor and superintendent of public instruction — file an additional code of ethics form disclosing items or services received in excess of $250. Those forms are due Feb. 15. 

These financial disclosures allow the public to monitor for potential conflicts of interest. WyoFile requests these documents every year to share with the public. Only one disclosure form — that of Sen. Troy McKeown (R-Gillette) — was missing from the request that WyoFile received on Feb. 8. 

Lawmakers clap as Gov. Mark Gordon prepares to deliver his State of the State address to the Wyoming Legislature on Feb. 12, 2024 in Cheyenne. (Ashton J. Hacke/WyoFile)

Most lawmakers and state executives don’t have much to report. 

Though the business doesn’t currently have a contract exceeding $5,000, Sen. Cale Case (R-Lander) disclosed that the Inn at Lander, which he partially owns, sometimes supplies lodging, food and conference facilities to Wyoming agencies, boards, elected officials and other divisions of the state. He’s reported that in the past. 

Rep. Barry Crago (R-Buffalo) disclosed that the firm where he works and has an ownership stake — Crago Law Offices — has a contract to provide legal services for the Town of Kaycee. 

For the most part, though, the public can learn more about where lawmakers work, what businesses they own and from where they’ve earned money. 

Financial statements and code of ethics forms provided to WyoFile through a public records request are available below. See something fishy? Missing? Send any tips to editor@wyofile.com.

House of Representatives

Bill Allemand

Lane Allred

Ocean Andrew

Abby Angelos

Dalton Banks

John Bear

Ryan Berger

Landon Brown 

Donald Burkhart, Jr

Andrew Byron

Forrest Chadwick

Ken Chestek

Ken Clouston

Jon Conrad

Barry Crago

Bob Davis

John Eklund

Jeremy Haroldson

Steve Harshman

Scott Heiner

Bill Henderson

Ben Hornok

Mark Jennings

Christopher Knapp

Lloyd Larsen

J.T. Larson

Martha Lawley

Tony Locke

Chip Neiman

Sandy Newsome

Bob Nicholas

Tony Niemiec

David Northrup

Kevin O’Hearn

Ember Oakley

Jerry Obermueller

Jared Olsen

Pepper Ottman

Ken Pendergraft

Sarah Penn

Karlee Provenza

Rachel Rodriguez-Williams

Trey Sherwood

Daniel Singh

Allen Slagle

Scott Smith

Albert Sommers

Clark Stith

Liz Storer

Tomi Strock

Clarence Styvar 

Reuben Tarver

Tamara Trujillo

Tom Walters

Jeanette Ward

Art Washut

Cyrus Western

John Winter

Cody Wylie

Mike Yin

David Zwonitzer

Dan Zwonitzer

Wyoming Senate

Jim Anderson

Fred Baldwin

Eric Barlow

Bo Biteman

Brian Boner

Anthony Bouchard

Evie Brennan

Cale Case

Ed Cooper

Dan Dockstader

Ogden Driskill

Affie Ellis

Tim French

Dan Furphy

Mike Gierau  

Larry Hicks

Lynn Hutchings

Bob Ide

Stacy Jones

Dave Kinskey

John Kolb 

Bill Landen

Dan Laursen

Troy McKeown

Tara Nethercott

Stephan Pappas

Chris Rothfuss

Tim Salazar

Wendy Schuler

Charles Scott

Cheri Steinmetz

Executive offices

Gov. Mark Gordon 

Secretary of State Chuck Gray

Superintendent Megan Degenfelder 

 State Auditor Kristi Racines 

State Treasurer Curt Meier

This article was originally published by WyoFile and is republished here with permission. WyoFile is an independent nonprofit news organization focused on Wyoming people, places and policy.


Exit mobile version