Over 1 million readers this year!

Campbell school board will interview 9 candidates Jan. 17 for open seat

The Campbell County School Board bids farewell Dec. 13 to Ken Clouston, who beat former Rep. Tim Hallinan (left) in the primary election for House District 32. (Mary Stroka/County 17)

GILLETTE, Wyo. — Campbell County School District received applications from nine people for former school board member Ken Clouston’s seat:

  • Mary Brunner
  • Mark Christensen
  • Mark Gilbertson
  • Meldene Goehring
  • Bob Jordan
  • Kelci Luken
  • Debbie McLeland
  • Jerry Means
  • Greg Schreurs

Interviews will take place on the afternoon of Jan. 17 in the Rocky Point Room at the Educational Services Center, 1000 W. Eighth St., Gillette.

The board will prepare a list of questions that they will ask candidates. Each candidate will have his or her own interview with the school board.

Candidates will be informed of their time slots, which will be arranged by hat draw, Superintendent Alex Ayers said.

There will be a set of three back-to-back interviews, followed by a 15-minute break, and that set will repeat until the nine interviews are complete. At that time, the board will make a public vote.

The candidate would take the position by the following board meeting, which is Jan. 24.

Clouston won election in the general election for Wyoming House of Representatives District 32 in November 2022.

Brunner, Gilbertson, Goehring, Jordan and Means were among the candidates who ran for school board in the November election. Dr. Timothy Hallinan, Rollo Williams and incumbent Dr. Joseph Lawrence won in the November election.