Over 1 million readers this year!

Voting guide for Campbell County General Election

GILLETTE, Wyo. — County 17 has created a comprehensive election guide that lists all candidates running in Campbell County’s General Election in 2022. Election Day voting will take place today from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Voters casting ballots today must vote at their local precincts, not Campbell County Elections Office. The Elections Office must receive absentee ballots by 7 p.m. Campbell County voters can look up their precinct, voting location, state-level legislators and city ward with an interactive map here. More information about Wyoming voting is available at Ballotpedia and on the Wyoming Secretary of State’s website.

County 17 has been publishing candidate questionnaires and other election-related stories. Those can be found under the County 17 Elections tab. If candidates have sent responses to the forms and their photos, their names are linked with the published answers.  Incumbent candidates’ names are followed by an asterisk (*).

What you need to know for voting

  • Absentee ballots must be presented to the Campbell County Elections Office,  500 S. Gillette Ave., Suite 1602, Gillette, by 7 p.m. Election Day.
  • Voters must present ID. Acceptable forms of ID are listed here, along with voter registration details.
  • Voters at CAM-PLEX who know their precinct number and don’t have to make changes to voter registration or need to re-register may proceed to the table marked with their precinct number, Elections Coordinator Michelle Leiker said.

Ballot questions

Two are proposed amendments to the Wyoming Constitution, which voters statewide will see:

  • “The Wyoming Constitution allows the state to invest state funds in equities such as the stock of corporations, but does not allow the funds of counties, cities and other political subdivisions to be invested in equities. The adoption of this amendment would allow the funds of counties, cities and other political subdivisions to be invested in equities to the extent and in the manner the legislature may allow by law. Any law authorizing the investment of specified political subdivision funds in equities would require a two-thirds vote of both houses of the legislature.”
  • “Currently, the Wyoming Constitution requires Wyoming Supreme Court justices and district court judges to retire upon reaching the age of seventy (70). This amendment increases the mandatory retirement age of Supreme Court justices and district court judges from age seventy (70) to age seventy-five (75).

Leiker said a lack of a vote, also known as a non-vote, on these questions has the weight of a vote against the amendments.

  • Campbell County residents will also be asked: “Shall Campbell County continue to impose a one percent (1%) excise tax upon retail sales within Campbell County?” The County has posted information about the use of the tax here.

Leaving the questions blank doesn’t invalidate the remainder of the ballot, Leiker said.

Contested races

Federal and state

U.S. Rep: Harriet Hageman (Republican), Lynnette GreyBull (Democrat), Richard Brubaker (Libertarian), Marissa Joy Selvig (Constitution)

Governor: Mark Gordon* (R), Theresa A. Livingston (D), Jared J. Baldes (L)

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Megan Degenfelder (R) vs Sergio A. Maldonado, Sr. (D)

Wyoming state legislators

Wyoming House District 53: Christopher R. Knapp* (R) vs Larry Williamson (C)

Wyoming Senate District 23: Eric Barlow (R) vs Patricia Junek (I)


Gillette Mayor: Nathan McLeland vs Shay Lundvall

City of Gillette Ward 1 four-year term: Greg Schreurs* vs Jim West

City of Gillette Ward 1 unexpired term: Ben Decker vs Tricia Simonson*

City of Gillette Ward 2: Mark Junek vs Timothy Carsrud

City of Gillette Ward 3: Heidi Jean Gross vs Ed Sisti

Campbell County School District (choose up to three): Mary Brunner, David Foreman*, Mark A. Gilbertson, Meldene Goehring, Dr. Timothy Hallinan, Robert Jordan, Dr. Joseph Lawrence*, Jessica Martinez, Jerry R. Means, Angela Raber, Cruz Samano, Rodger L. Solomon, Rollo Williams, Lira Williamson

Campbell County Cemetery District unexpired two-year term: Lucas C. Fralick vs J.D. Jones*

Campbell County Conservation District-Rural: B.J. Clark, Kent Clark, John Daly

Campbell County Conservation District At-Large: Kim Kretschman* vs Tex McBride

Campbell County Hospital District (choose up to four): Adrian Gerrits*, Lisa Harry*, Sara Hartsaw*, Mark S. Hoskinson, Dennis Jack, Bill Rice, Alan Stuber*

Wright mayor: Ralph Kingan* vs Crystal O’Bryan

Judicial retention

Sixth Circuit Court Judge Paul Phillips and Sixth Circuit Court Judge Paul Phillips are up for judicial retention.