Campbell County school board to discuss STEM curriculum at 5 p.m. Tuesday

GILLETTE, Wyo. — Campbell County School District Board of Trustees will meet at 5 p.m. Sept. 27 about elementary science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM, curriculum.

The meeting will be held in the Rocky Point Room at the Educational Services Center, 1000 W. Eighth St., Gillette, a Sept. 22 memo from Clerk/Assistant Treasurer Joseph Lawrence said.

The agenda said items scheduled for discussion and approval at the regular board meeting at 6 p.m. include the following:

  • The Wyoming Seal of Biliteracy. The Wyoming Department of Education gives this award to students who have attained proficiency in English and at least one other language by high school graduation.
  • The Wyoming Energy Authority Grant. Under the grant contract, Wyoming Energy Authority would reimburse the school district for retrofit activities, up to $50,000, that are identified in the WyLite Energy Engineering Study. The funds would be used at the the facilities at Twin Spruce Junior High School and Sage Valley Junior High School.

  • Director of Curriculum Brandon Crosby will provide a district academic report.

Approval of the following bids and quotes:

  • Federal AWARE grant funding of $13,485 for 1,500 Operation Parent Elementary School Handbooks
  • $20,306 from the General Fund for a Ricoh USA Inc. printer for finance
  • State major maintenance funding for a Wagonwheel Elementary fire alarm upgrade and Thunder Basin High School access control upgrades

Approval of contracts and agreements including the following:

-- Advertisement – Story Continues Below --

The board will also be asked to approve staffing changes.

Sept. 13 meetings recap

Meeting minutes are available during regular office hours at the school district clerk’s office at the Educational Services Center. The district has posted online minutes from the regular board meeting and the special dinner meeting that occurred Sept. 13.

Transportation Director Keith Chrans presented the 2021-2022 Transportation Employees
of the Month:

  • Kristal Riss
  • Cody Lesmeister
  • Cindy Washburn
  • Patti Schoeszler
  • Jacquelyn Pownall
  • Tonielle Stiens
  • Sue Fortner
  • Bryan Smith
  • Sonya Hand

Bryan Smith was honored as the 2021-2022 Transportation Employee of the Year.

Associate Superintendent for Instructional Support Dennis Holmes and Transportation Supervisor Keith Chrans provided information regarding the inclement weather monitoring procedures for school closures and late starts. The minutes said that the school district’s decisions involve many entities including WYDOT, Road and Bridge, and Public Works. Information will be distributed as early as 5:30 a.m. through the Blackboard Connect Monitoring System. Sources for that information will include phone calls, text messages, the District Facebook page and the District website.

At the Sept. 13 board meeting, the school board approved the school district’s human resources department’s actions regarding the following staffing changes:
Maria Alonzo Jensen Safety Patrol/Transportation
Larissa Alvarado Special Programs Ed. Asst./Stocktrail
Eryca Boyle Title I Assistant/Rawhide
Claire Brooks Bus Assistant/Transportation
Catherine Carlson SPEA ASD/TBHS
Kailee Coffee Bus Assistant/Transportation
Kenya Cottier Bus Assistant/Transportation
Robert Cowan Jr. Safety Patrol/Transportation
Brittany Day Special Programs Ed. Asst./Stocktrail
Lily Echols Special Programs Ed. Asst./Meadowlark
Tatyana Ferguson SPEA ASD/TBHS
Emily Heinrich Instructional Asst./Pronghorn
Desiree Heslop SPEA ED/Sage Valley
Cassidy Hladky SPEA – ASD/Lakeview
Christian Jackson SPEA – ED/Twin Spruce
Bobbi Kannapel Instructional Asst./Rozet
Fabiola Marguia-Sanchez Assistant Cook/Nutrition Services
Amy Maroney Special Programs Ed. Asst./Stocktrail
Jennifer Mortimore Nutrition Services Assistant/Nutrition Services
Kayleen Peden Elementary Head Custodian/Conestoga
Genevieve Pickett Assistant Cook/Nutrition Services
Haylie Schlidt Special Programs Ed. Asst./Rozet
Tammy Segelke Special Program Ed. Asst./WJSH
Selena Sheehan Custodian/TBHS
Sara Sproul SPEA Ed/Sage Valley
Tiffanie Sundstrom Custodian/TBHS
Lorraine Taylor Title I Teacher Assistant/Meadowlark
Tia VanHollebeke Instructional Asst./Stocktrail
Timothy Vogt Skilled Maintenance – Irrigation
Tabitha Walton Special Programs Ed. Asst./Meadowlark
Kelsey Williams SPEA – ED/Paintbrush
Christina Wright SPEA HN/TSJH
Aubrey Young SPEA – High Needs/Conestoga
Loire Cosman Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Taylor Downham Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Samuel Green Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Emma Jarvis Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Palila Nelson Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Tabitha Watson Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
Megan Benton FROM: Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
TO: Bus Driver/Transportation
Amanda Colvin FROM: Bus Driver in Training/Transportation
TO: Bus Driver/Transportation
Aidan Coombs FROM: Custodian/TBHS
TO: 3 hour/day Custodian/Kid Clinic
Cara Cundall-Binder FROM: SPEA – ASD/Lakeview
TO: Special Programs Ed. Asst./Rozet
Rosalyn Juarez FROM: Substitute Bus Driver/Transportation
TO: Bus Driver/Transportation
Darcie Lyon FROM: Instructional Assistant/Stocktrail
TO: Instructional Assistant/Lakeview
Elizabeth Martwick FROM: SPEA – High Needs/Hillcrest
TO: Jr. Kindergarten SPEA/Hillcrest
Key’Anna McGuire FROM: Custodian/Recluse
TO: Custodian/Rozet
Patricia Saenz FROM: 6 hour Custodian/Meadowlark
TO: Custodian/Wagonwheel
Cindy Schartz FROM: Custodian/TBHS
TO: Nutrition Service Assistant/Nutrition Services
Kierston Blake, Bus Driver/Transportation
Katherine Callahan, Bus Driver/Transportation
Rita Eid, SPEA HN/Sage Valley
Hallie Ferguson, Instructional Asst./Pronghorn
Alyssa Hackert, Bus Driver/Transportation
Cynthia Manselle, SPEA – ED/Conestoga
Deverie McCoy, Custodian/Rozet
Tasha McKinney, SPEA – HN/Twin Spruce
Alexis Ordaz, SPEA – ED/Paintbrush
Lisa Song, Elementary Office Clerk/Rozet
Gregory Popke, Bus Driver/Transportation
Rebecca Tennant, Technology Asst./Cottonwood
Vanessa Villegas, Special Programs Ed. Asst./Meadowlark
David Whorpole, SPEA-ED/CCHS
Adam Wilcox, Custodian/CCHS
Ashli Wilcox, Special Programs Ed. Asst./Rozet
Alexis Woirhaye, SPEA – High Needs/Hillcrest
Susana Villegas Escalante, Special Programs Ed. Asst./Pronghorn
Nancy Peyrot
FROM: Elementary Special Programs Case Manager/SSC
TO: Library/Media Specialist/.5 Buffalo Ridge & .5 Conestoga
Jayme Baumberger,  Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Flor Camp, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Jill DePasquale, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Sierra Flores, Substitute Teacher/First Grade/Meadowlark
Loren Groves, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Sherry Kelley, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Nicole Keesler, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Jami Maciejewski-Johnson, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Danielle Manselle, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Cheylyn Morris, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Alicia Stevens, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Sharon Sturdevant, Substitute Teacher/All Schools
Heather Luken CAT Assistant/Conestoga
Amy Neff CAT Director/Conestoga