Thunder Basin runners cross the season’s finish line

TBHS junior Brandt Coombs (RJ Morgan/County 17)
The sixth season for cross-county at Thunder Basin High School reached the finish line over the weekend. The boys and girls’ cross-country teams faced their biggest tests of the season at the Wyoming High School Activities Association’s 4A state championship meet in Ethete over the weekend.
The Bolts girls wrapped up the year with an eight-place performance at state with 190 points. The TBHS boys finished 11th overall with 293.
The titles were a sweep by two schools. Cheyenne Central won the boys and girls team championships but it was Jackson that captured both individual state titles.

TBHS girls

TBHS sophomore Megan Doherty (RJ Morgan/County 17)
Thunder Basin’s top time was clocked by Abby Arnold. The senior capped her career finishing 20th out of 70 runners when she completed the 5,000-meter race in a time of 20 minutes, 42.53 seconds.
Second among the Gillette contingency was another veteran finishing in the top half of all runners. Senior Rylee Brandon was 29th overall after she crossed the finish line in 21:15.09.
The next talented TBHS runner to conquer the three-mile course was Clara Bourgeois. The freshman didn’t back down from the challenge of her biggest varsity race as she posted a time of 21:44.98.
The fourth Bolt to finish at state was sophomore Megan Doherty as she was clocked at 22:20.78. Just a few steps back was freshman teammate Syri Johnson at 22:25.76.

Thunder Basin was also led at state and all season by freshman Adelynn Matthews who nailed a time of 24:20.45 and sophomore Rylee Hudson at 24:44.82.

TBHS freshman Syri Johnson (RJ Morgan/County 17)
Individual times
Abby Arnold, Sr., 20:42.53
Rylee Brandon, Sr., 21:15.09
Clara Bourgeois, Fr., 21:44.98
Megan Doherty, Soph., 22:20.78
Syri Johnson, Fr., 22:25.76
Adelynn Matthews, Fr., 24:20.45
Rylee Hudson, Soph., 24:44.82
TBHS boys
Thunder Basin was led at state by one of its veteran leaders. Senior Alex Draper led by example with an excellent finish to his career as he shaved nine seconds off his time from conference a week earlier with a state time of 17:53.46.
The next Bolt to cross the finish line was sophomore Spenser Erickson when he recorded a time of 18:36.73. He was not alone as freshman teammate Patrick Hardesty was the next runner to complete the race three seconds later at 18:40.43.
Fourth among the Thunder Basin crew was senior Carter Matthews who was clocked at 19:01.99. Just four places back was freshman teammate Connor Phipps at 19:25.73.

Bolts junior Nicholas Juelfs finished the state race when he stopped the clock at 20:22.57. He was followed by junior teammate Brandt Coombs at 20:40.06.

TBHS senior Alex Draper (RJ Morgan/County 17)
Individual times
Alex Draper, Sr., 17:53.46
Spenser Erickson, Soph., 18:36.73
Patrick Hardesty, Fr., 18:40.43
Carter Matthews, Sr., 19:01.77
Connor Phipps, Fr., 19:25.73
Nicholas Juelfs, Jr., 20:22.57

Brandt Coombs, Jr., 20:40.06

TBHS freshman Connor Phipps (RJ Morgan/County 17)