City Council Appoints President, Advisory Board

Gillette City Council President Nathan McLelan
Zoom appointment of Gillette City Council President Nathan McLeland for 2021.

Municipal Court Judge Jeremy Michaels swore in Gillette City Councilmen elects Shay Lundvall and Eric Hanson during Tuesday night’s tele-remote council meeting along with Councilmen Nathan McLeland and Billy Montgomery, who were reelected to the council in November.

This marks the city’s first-ever remote swearing in ceremony, according to City Administrator Pat Davidson.

“It’s a little unique to doing it this way,” Davidson said, acknowledging the impact of the pandemic on the city’s appointments. “It’s not the way we’ve ever done it before.”

McLeland was also appointed Tuesday to serve as council president for 2021. He will replace former councilman Bruce Brown, who held the position in 2020.

Additionally, the council announced the continued appointments of Davidson, City Attorney Anthony Reyes, At-Will Municipal Prosecutor Christopher Ringer and Judge Michaels for 2021, and approved several citizen advisory board appointments including:

-- Advertisement – Story Continues Below --

New Advisory Board Appointments 

Board of Adjustment: John Ostheimer

Board of Examiners: Keenan Fitzgerald, Daniel Hanson and Brian Rozier

Campbell County Joint Powers Lodging Tax Board: Kasie Wanke

-- Advertisement – Story Continues Below --

Campbell County Public Land Board: Laura Chapman

Campbell County Economic Development Corp.: Mayor Louise Carter-King and Davidson

Gillette/Torrington Joint Powers Board: Carter-King

Public Works/Utility Advisory Committee: Lance Walker, Zane Green, Dale Filholm and Mike Oakley