A Rundown of 2020 Candidates, Issues in General Elections

A sample ballot provided by the Campbell County Elections Office.
A sample ballot provided by the Campbell County Elections Office.

A sample ballot provided by the Campbell County Elections Office.


This year, voters in Campbell County will help elect a president and vice president of the United States, a Wyoming Representative for U.S. House, a U.S. Senator, two county commissioners, a variety of members for the Campbell County Conservation Board, four trustees for the Campbell County School District, three members for the Campbell County Hospital District and a total of eight circuit, district and Wyoming Supreme Court judges.

Depending on a voter’s address, residents will receive a ballot specifying the districts for both the state House of Representatives and Senate races on which they will be voting, as well as which ward for Gillette City Council.  Voters can find out which ward and districts they live in by entering their address into the county’s election map.

Early voting opened last Friday, Sept. 18, in Campbell County. Registration and voting usually takes around 10 minutes, according to Campbell County Elections Clerk Charity Stewart. The office, located in the Campbell County Court House, at 500 S. Gillette Avenue, is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.



State Senate

Some Campbell County voters (mostly those within city limits) will vote on Wyoming State Senate District 24 for which Troy McKeown, owner of Don’s Supermarket, secured the Republican nomination last month in the primary election.

State House of Representatives

Five Wyoming House of Representatives seats will also be decided by Campbell County voters. In District 3, incumbent Eric Barlow is running unopposed for the two-year term. John Bear, Bill Fortner and Roy Edwards are also running unopposed in Districts 31, 52 and 53, respectively. Meanwhile, Democratic nominee Lynne Huckinson is challenging incumbent Timothy Hallinan for the District 32 seat.

Gillette City Council

For the City of Gillette, a Ward 1 seat will be reconsidered by voters as incumbent Bruce Brown challenges Eric Hanson, who secured his place on the ballot after running as a write-in candidate during the primary elections. Mark Junek also ran as a write-in candidate for Ward 2, launching him into the race against incumbent Billy Montgomery.

There are two spots open in Ward 3. Incumbent Laura Chapman is running against former City Councilman Shay Lundvall who resigned from the City Council after controversy broke out over a Facebook post that he had “liked” in June. Incumbent Nathan McCleland was appointed in 2018 to serve on the Gillette City Council until the next election. Now, he and Bob Vomhof are racing to fill the seat for another four-year term.

Town of Wright Councilpersons

Voters who live in the Town of Wright will be electing two city councilpersons at large. Incumbent Doug Schrader is running against Joel Morgan and Annie Ziegenhorn for the seats.

Board of Commissioners

Two seats on the Campbell County Board of Commissioners will also appear on the ballot as incumbents Del Shelstad and Colleen Faber are each running for reelection, alongside local business owner Wes Johnson, who calls himself a “conservative Democrat.” The two elected nominees will each serve four-year terms on the board.

Story Continues Below
School District Board of Trustees

For the Campbell County School Board, four trustees are up for election. A total of seven candidates are vying for the open seats including incumbents Ken Clouston, Lisa Durgin and Board Chair Anne Ochs as well as Heidi Herrmann, Larry Steiger, Susan Bennett and Heidi Gross.

Cemetery District

Running for three available spots within the Campbell County Cemetery District are incumbents Tommie Butler, J.D. Jones and Arlene Bryant alongside local business owner Dean Vomhof.

Conservation District

The Campbell County Conservation District is comprised of five members, three of which are rural representatives who serve along with one urban and one at-large representative. Richard Hauber, Jeffery Boardman and B.J. Clark are running for the rural seats while Keith Eisenbraun is running unopposed for the at-large seat.

Hospital District

The Campbell County Hospital District has three open seats for which Randall Hite, Kristina Leslie and Tom Murphy are running.


Voters will decide whether Justices for the Wyoming Supreme Court Kari Jo Gray and Lynne Boomgaarden should be retained to each serve additional eight-year terms. Voters can also consider District Court Judges John Perry and Thomas Rumpke to each retain additional six-year terms as well as Circuit Court Judges Wendy Bartlett and Matthew Castano for their four-year terms.


Issues at Stake

Lodge tax

Campbell County voters will decide whether to increase the county’s lodge tax to 4% up from the current 2% charge for travelers staying in hotels, campgrounds or other temporary lodges.

Constitutional Amendment A

Voters will be weighing on the introduction of Constitutional Amendment A, which would remove the limit on the amount of debt that a municipality can create for sewer projects, instead allowing the Wyoming Legislature to set the limit.


Candidate Forums

To see where candidates sit on various issues impacting the city, state and county, voters can check out the forums hosted by the Campbell County League of Women Voters this summer.

Forum for the General Elections: County Commissioners, Wyoming House of Representatives House District 32 and Gillette City Council

Forum for the General Elections: Campbell County School District Board of Trustees, Campbell County Cemetery District


Candidate Forums

Still not sure what to expect when voting this year? Check out the sample ballots provided by the Campbell County Elections Office.

Story Continues Below

Disclaimer: District and Ward combinations may vary on actual election day, depending on each voter’s address.

Sample Ballots for Gillette Citizens

Ward 1

Ward 2

Ward 3

Sample Ballots for Citizens in the Town of Wright

At Large

Sample Ballots for Rural Residents of Campbell County

South (or West) of Town

East of Town