For CCSD Schools, Spring Break is Spring Break

Campbell County schools have no immediate plans to extend Spring Break.

Despite recommendations from Governor Gordon and State Superintendent Jillian Balow Sunday that schools remain closed to students through April 3, the Campbell County School District has not yet changed its plans to resume classes Monday, March 23.

A call to the Campbell County School District Office Monday morning went unanswered, but a notification on the district’s webpage stated that “At this time, Campbell County School District will not be extending Spring Break” and that they have worked closely with Campbell County Public Health staff in their decision-making process.

This could change, according to the district’s post, and any changes will be communicated to staff and families “with as much notice as possible.”

The recommendation from Balow deferred judgement to local superintendents and school districts. This recommendation, the March 15 press release stated, is not necessarily based on epidemiological best practices but is an attempt to allow schools and communities to prepare to operate in a way that mitigates community spread of COVID-19, and minimizes negative economic impacts.

The Governor and State Superintendent urge district leadership to work within their schools and communities to ensure the continuity of learning and essential services as determined locally, the release stated.

-- Advertisement – Story Continues Below --

“In the midst of this pandemic, communities need the latitude, empowerment and support to make difficult decisions that affect education, economy and essential functions,” Governor Gordon said. “While we safeguard the health of every person we must also do our best to continue our daily work for the economic security of our state and nation.”

Superintendent Balow added, in the release, “Evidence of community spread in Fremont County, two confirmed cases in Sheridan County and pending tests from across the state have led us to this. Wyoming has over 90,000 square miles where schooling is an essential function in each community – the decision is difficult.”

As of Monday at noon, the following schools were closed as follows, according to information on the Wyoming Department of Education website:

  • Fremont 14 – Closed until 3/30/20
  • Laramie 1 – Closed until 4/5/20
  • Laramie 2 – Closed until 4/3/20
  • Natrona 1 – Closed until 4/5/20
  • Sweetwater 2 – Closed until 4/3/20
  • Teton 1 – Closed until 4/5/20
  • Crook 1 – Closed until 3/20/20 (The district will evaluate the situation past this week).

For more information, visit: