Campbell County and Thunder Basin High Schools Will Have New Principals Next Year

(Gillette, Wyo.) The Campbell County School Board will meet tonight with another big announcement on the agenda. Thunder Basin High School Principal Dennis Holmes will transfer this summer into the position of Associate Superintendent for Instructional Support.

“I have been in a building the last 28 years, a high school building the past 19 years and am going to miss that,” said Holmes of the move. “However, I am very excited to transition to my new position and look forward to serving in a new role.”

The move is the result of a number of changes at the school district that started in February with the announcement of Dr. Boyd Brown’s resignation as CCSD Superintendent. In unanimous decision, the school board voted that Dr. Alex Ayers will transition into the role of Superintendent and Kirby Eisenhauer will move into the role of Deputy Superintendent.

This latest round of musical chairs leaves both principal positions vacant next year for Campbell County and Thunder Basin High Schools.

Last month the school board announced that, next year, CCHS Principal Troy Zickefoose will transfer to Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Assessment, and Staff Development. That positions is currently held by Kelly Hornby, who will be retiring at the end of the school year.

-- Advertisement – Story Continues Below --

“I am confident we will find two quality leaders to take over for Mr. Zickefoose and I.” said Holmes. “There are some outstanding leaders out there waiting to serve as high school principals.  It’s an exciting time for me and others.”

Along with the other regular business on tonight’s agenda, the school board will hear academic reports for Westwood High School and Stocktrail Elementary.